Winners of the Lumière Awards

During the Belle Époque, near the end of the 19th century, two wildly creative brothers, Auguste and Louis Lumière, began working in their father’s photographic factory in Lyon, France. The brothers went on to set artistic and intellectual circles on fire. To this day, their work continues to engage the world with a brilliant, creative intensity. The Lumière brothers gave those who love cinema and still photography a cornucopia of technical and creative inventions that have endured more than a hundred years. Fabrik Media is pleased to pay homage to them with our annual Lumière Awards, which celebrate excellence in photography and the moving image.

It was with great enthusiasm that we announced the Lumière Award winners at the 2017 Los Angeles Festival of Photography. These photographic masters were exhibited at the Photo Independent Art Fair, that ran concurrently with the photography festival, at The Reef, in downtown Los Angeles (April 21-23).

After reviewing more than 500 entries from photographers representing 30 countries, our expert judges selected three major award winners and 15 honorable mentions. “Each year we are humbled by the caliber of talent and global reach of this competition,” said Chris Davies, Founder and President of The Lumière Awards. “The fact that we had a tie for first place shows just how exceptional the submissions were this year.”

The Photographer of the Year award was shared by two photographers: Szymon Barylski from Ireland and Dongwook Lee from South Korea. Armineh Hovanesian from the United States was awarded this year’s Mobile Photographer of the Year. Receiving honorable mentions were Jennifer Baird, Australia; Sergey Bisirkin, Russia; Peter Braunholz, Germany; Chris Vanden Broeke, Belgium; Paul Crampton, Canada; Alexa Coughlin, USA; Katinka Kemp, Australia; Anita Kovacevic, Austria; Alexvi Li, China; Rebecca Lodin, Australia; Erin McGean, Canada; Michelle Robinson, Australia; SameSource, USA; Felicia Simion, Romania; and Gili Yaari, Israel.

The Lumière Awards conducts an annual open call for photographers of all backgrounds possessing an uncommon vision. The awards call for, “expansive, images that rupture, reveal, disrupt and free how we feel and see,” with the goal of celebrating the most iconic photos taken by new and emerging talent as well as professionals from around the world.

The three Lumière Award Grand Prize winners each received a cash award, solo exhibition booth at Photo Independent 2017, and many other prizes. Honorable Mention winners were part of a group exhibition at Photo Independent 2017. 

This Year’s Lumière Photography Award Winners


Grand Prize Winners


1. Photographer of the Year

Szymon Barylski, Ireland

2. Photographer of the Year

Dongwook Lee, South Korea

3. Mobile Photographer of the Year

Armineh Hovanesian, USA

Honorable Mention


4. Felicia Simion, Romania

5. Michelle Robinson, Australia

6. Rebecca Lodin, Australia

7. Alexa Coughlin, USA

8. Alexvi Li, China

9. Paul Crampton, Canada

10. Jennifer Baird, Australia

11. Erin McGean, Canada

12. SameSource, USA

13. Anita Kovacevic, Austria

14. Sergey Bisirkin, Russia

15. Gili Yaari, Israel

16. Peter Braunholz, Germany

17. Chris Vanden Broeke, Belgium


About Post Author