On November 12th, the Torrance Art Museum proudly presents MAS Attack 13. More than 300 artists will make the final MAS Attack at the Torrance Art Museum the biggest show of this innovative exhibition series.  This one-night event will be held at from 5 to 9 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 12, 2016.

The MAS Attack events, hosted by ARTRA Curatorial, started with 100 artists at the LA Mart in 2013. The intention was to build community among artists. Artists were invited to participate through open calls on Facebook. They showed up at the venue with work under their arms. Nothing could be bought or sold. The shows were free. And over the years, artists in Los Angeles got to know one another.

“Friendships were made and those led to opportunities. Maybe the events helped a few artists understand that they were not as isolated as they feared,” said Max Presneill, one of the three members of ARTRA and the director of the Torrance Art Museum. “But at some point there are diminishing returns, and we don’t want to see it turn into a rote experience.”

The MAS Attack idea was born after conversations between Presneill and painter Mark Dutcher about ways artists could support artists. Dutcher remembers the first MAS Attack in 2013 as an “the instant feeling of community.”

“I felt part of something bigger than myself,” he said. “It wasn’t about ego but about a celebration of being an artist amongst my peers. It was a nice break from the solitude of the studio.”

The first MAS Attack was an unparalleled success, in part because it opened at the same time as nearby art fairs, drawing thousands of people.

“I think everyone knew this was something special,” said Stenke, “a different kind of group show. They were meeting people for the first time and you could feel sparks fly as a result.”

And in the end, that momentum has built to this last exhibition, which like the others was based on artists nominating artists on Facebook.

“The best outcome of these events has been the solidarity of the artists moving towards change in creating new venues, DIY curating, forming new entities and collaborations, and opening up new partnerships with venues out of state,” said Griffith. “The MAS Attacks have had profound impact in the LA art scene — setting new trends and breaking rules.”

ARTRA Curatorial is a volunteer organization for the implementation of new modes of exhibition — locally, nationally and internationally — that feature artist-led emerging platforms and opportunity-based interactions and community building. Founded by Max Presneill and Colton Stenke in 2009 and now joined by Kio Griffith, the group has instigated large-scale art events and exchanges, as well as the alternative art fair Co/Lab, throughout Los Angeles. International projects include galleries and institutions in New York, London, Paris, Berlin, Vienna, Istanbul, Guangzhou, Tokyo, Melbourne and other cities.

Artists include Aaron Giesel, Alanna Marcelletti, Albert Lopez Jr., Alec Dawson, Alessandor Rachael, Aline Mare, Alison Woods, Ally Bortolazzo, Amanda Mears, Amy Fox, Andrea Bersaglieri, Anise Stevens, Ann Diener, Ann Phong, Ann Weber, Anna Leighton, Annie Clavel, Annie Seaton, Antoine Guilbaud, April Bey, Arezoo Bharthania, Becca Shewmake, Ben Jackal, Ben Zask, Betsy Enzensberger, Bibi Davidson, Bill Brewer, Brian Thomas Jones, Bryan Ida, Cameron McIntyre, Campbell Laird, Carl Shubs, Carolle- Shelley Abrams, Catherine Kimball Davis, Catherine Ruane. Cathleen Abalos, Cathy Lightfoot, Cathy Weiss , Chenhung Chen, Cherie Benner Davis, Chris Barnickel, Chris McBurnley, Chris Shelby, Christina Shurts, Christopher Chinn, Cia Foreman, Cindy Jackson, Claudia Morales McCain, Cole James, Colton Stenke, Conchi Sanford, Corrie Gregory, Crystal Fischetti, Curtis Stage, Cynthia Lujan, Cynthia Minet, Dan Callis, Dani Dodge, Daniel Leighton, Daniela Campins, David DiMichele, David French, David Glickman, David Leapman, David Michael Lee, David Spanbock, Dawn Arrowsmith, Dawn Quinones, Debby & Larry Kline, Debe Arlook, Denise Kraemer, Dia Bassett, Diane Nebolon Silver, Diane Pirie Cockerel, Diane Williams, Diego Gutierrez Monterrubio, Dosshaus, Doug Wichert, Douglas Alvarez, Dwora Fried, Ed Gomez, Elena Johnson, Elizabeth Dorbad, Elizabeth Folk, Elizabeth Medina, Elizabeth Stringer, Elizabeth Valdez, Ellen Dieter, Ellen Riingen, Emily Maddigan, Essi Zimm, Eva Hyam, Farzan Sabet, Feng Ling, Francisco Alvarado, Frederika Roeder, Gabriel Garcia, Gary Brewer, Gavin Bunne, Gay Summer Sadow Rick, George Garcia, George Joaquim, Gloria Plascencia, Greg Schenk, Gretchen Batcheller, Gretchen Rollins, Gul Cagin, Hagop Najarian, Helen Chung, Holly Jerger, Hung Viet Nguyen , Isabel Rojas-Williams, Ismael de Anda III, Jackie Bell Johnson, James Galindo, James Goodwin, James Johnson, Jane Liu, Jane Szabo, Jason Ramos, Jennifer Gunlock, Jenny Hager, Jerrin Wagstaff, Jesse Standlea, Jessica Bley, Jessica Newman, Jodi Bonassi, Joe O’Neill, Joe Wolek, Joel Robert-Elton Woodard, John Sollom, Jon Flack, Jon Measures, Jonathan Ryan, Jorge Mujica, Josephine Lipuma, Josh Hagler, Juan Gomez, Justin Smith, Karrie Ross, Kate Sikorski, Kathi Flood, Kathleen Melian, Katya Usvitsky, Kenny McBride, Kerry Kugelman, Khang Bao Nguyen, Kim Garcia, Kim Kei, Kimber Berry, Kimberly Hahn, Kio Griffith, Kristine Schomaker, Krista Dawn, Krista Marlene, Kristin Frost, Kristine Augustyn, L Aviva Diamond, Lara Jo Regan, Laura Catherine, Laurel Paley, Lavialle Campbell, Leah C Dixon, Leland Paxton, Lena Moross, Lena Wolek, Lexi Aquilina, Lidia Shadow, Linda Sue Price, Loren Philip, Lori Pond, Lorraine Heitzman, Luigia Gio Martelloni, Luke Van Hook, Lynn E Coleman, Maja Ruznic, Malka Nedivi, Manny Karkowski, Marjan Hormozi, Mark Dutcher, Marlene Picard, Martin Durazo, Matthew Owen Driggs, Matthew Sweeny, Maurya Coleman, Max Presneill, Mayen Alcentara, Megan Frances Abrahams, Mei Xian Qui, Mela Marsh, Melissa Walter, Michael Chock, Michael Falzone, Michael Giancristiano, Michael McCall, Michele Castagnetti, Michele Wood Page, Mike McCarthy, Mike McLain , Mike Mollett, Mike Street, Mike Vegas, Monica Wyatt, Nadege Monchera Baer, Naira Hart, Nancy Buchanan, Nano Rubio, Narsiso Martinez, Natasha June Dee, Natasha Shoro, Nick Mansfield, Nikki Lewis, Noel Madrid, Nurit Avesar, Omar Gallegos, Pat Gainor, Patricia Mitchell, Patrick Rees, Peggy Sivert Zask, Perry Marks, Peta Orbach, Phil Amrhein, Phillip Griswold, Rachel Stiff, Ray Beldner, Rema Ghuloum. Renee Tanner, Ric Heitzman, Richard Gilles, RJ Ward, Robert Miller, Robert Soffian, Rod Baer, Roland Reiss, Ron Linden, Ron Therrio, Roni Feldman, Rouzanna Berberian, Samuelle Richardson, Sandy Abrams, Sant Khalsa, Sarajo Frieden, Scott Teson, Scott Trimble, Sean Michael Gallagher, Sean Noyce, Sergio Teran, Seth Lower, Sharon Bell, Sharon Suhovy, Shell Silverio, Shelley Heffler, Shingo Francis, Shiri Mordechay, Sijia Chen, Siobhan McClure, Snezana Saraswati Petrovic, Sonja Schenk, Sophia Tise, Sovanchanreaksmeay Sorn, Steph Sydney, Stephanie Meredith, Stephanie Sherwood, Stephen Rowe, Steve Seleska, Steven Fujimoto, Steven Seemayer, Steven Wolkoff, Sune Woods, Susan Feldman Tucker, Susan Kurland, Susan Lizotte, Susan Poms Amorde, Suzanne Budd, Suzanne Fontaine, Sydney Croskery, Tania Jazz Alverez, Tanya Haden, Terri Berman, Terry Lenihan, Theodore Svenningsen, Todd Carpenter, Tom Dunn, Tom Lasley, Tony Pinto, Tracey Weiss, Trina Turturic, Ty Pownall, Valerie Wilcox, Virginia Katz, Wakana Kimura, Wini Brewer, Yokoyama Miki, Yoshimi Hayashi, and Zeina Baltagi.

About Post Author